maintains stations and a staff for the study of the habits of fish, methods of propagation, preservation and protection.

Education.—The Department of Education is under a Minister who is also Provincial Secretary. The Superintendent of Education has the rank of a deputy minister. Supervision is in the hands of two high school inspectors, sixteen inspectors of schools, and one inspector of manual training schools. The system is non-sectarian. Attendance is compulsory from the age of 7 to 14. The provincial university was authorized by legislation in 1908, but was not opened until 1915. It confers degrees in Arts, Applied Science and Agriculture, and has power to grant degrees in all branches except theology.

Other educational institutions include two normal schools and over forty high schools. There are also night schools for instruction in academic and technical subjects. Manual training and household science departments are in operation in many high schools and elementary schools.

The maintenance of all city and town schools, and a large majority of the rural schools, is provided for by local or district assessment, supplemented by grants from the provincial treasury. Control of these schools is vested in the local authorities, subject to the regulations of the department. There are, however, in the more scattered districts, certain rural schools which are more directly under the control of the government. Cities and organized municipalities elect their boards by popular vote. These boards appoint municipal inspectors and other officers.

Municipal Government.—Local administration is at present based on the Municipal Act and amending statutes, together with the Village Municipalities Act. Large powers of local self-government are conferred by the existing system. An urban municipality may be formed by a community of not less than 100 male British subjects, provided the owners of more than half of the land petition for it. District municipalities may be organized by 30 resident male British subjects of full age. Village municipalities may be formed by petition where the number of residents does not exceed 1,000, but the provisions of the Municipal Act shall not apply thereto. The city organizations are of the same general type, differing only in details. In all, the chief executive officer is the mayor, and all have elective councils.

The Municipal Act has provision for the Board of Control, but neither this nor the Commission system is in operation. All the larger cities have dropped the ward system. Vancouver, the largest city, has reduced its council to eight members. The municipal franchise for ordinary purposes is open to adult male residents and to female householders and real estate owners. Only owners of real estate, male or female, may vote on money by-laws. Such by-laws are necessary for expenditures beyond the ordinary revenue, requiring the issue of debentures. They require a three-fifths majority of the votes cast.